This project is read-only.

Correct way to subclass/override framework

Mar 12, 2013 at 8:02 PM
Hi all,
I am new to WPF and the CODE fw and am working on a number of somewhat related applications, all of which I want to base on the CODE fw.

In some cases, I need to create and/or override behaviours in the framework.
  • I could modify the fw - but this is not good, especially if I want to implement a future revision.
  • I could add the code to each project - but then I have duplicate code.
So I want to create some sort of middle layer where I can put the code. In the case of pure OOP coding, I could just create a project that contains subclasses of the code in question and then put my enhancements there. And for some parts of the CODE fw, I could still do this. But I am totally lost when it comes to what to do with the XAML stuff.

Do the fine folk at EPS/CODE Magazine have an established process to implement this middle layer? I would think so because I am under the impression that they have a number of extensions to the fw that they use inhouse and those would need to be implemented this way.

Any thoughts/comments/references to link/etc. on the best approach to do this would be appreciated.

And it may be that I will find the info as I wade through all the discussions, documents, and previous issues of CODE Magazine - but I am guessing that someone already knows the answer.

Thanks
Mar 16, 2013 at 4:51 PM
Yes, this is certainly possible. Generally speaking, in WPF (so this is not CODE Framework specific), one probably needs this a little less in prior MS/.NET techs, but it is possible in very similar ways.

For code, you can use techniques like subclassing and composition. You can create yourself a new project and put everything you need in there and then include the resulting DLL(s) in your other projects. Nothing really unusual about it being WPF (or CODE Framework for that matter) here.