This project is read-only.

Suggestions rather than questions

Feb 22, 2014 at 4:59 PM
First of all I would like to apologize as I couldn't find a better place to post these suggestions to, so I thought I put theme here and you do whatever you want with them.

I am not a senior developer, but I had a little experience with a bunch of WPF/MVVM frameworks and .NET frameworks in general so I thought there are some areas of the CODE framework that could be improved.

I have been working with the framework for a short amount time now, so this list is just a birds eye view.
  1. Why not make NotifyChanged accept a lambda expression instead of a literal string, most of WPF/MVVM frameworks seem to do that and it makes code refactoring easier and less error prone.
  2. The same for Controllers, Why not make Controller.Action method and its variants, so instead of calling _Controller.Action("Home", "Index"), perhaps we can do Controller<Home>(homeController => homeController.Index()) or something similar, also aids in refactoring, less error prone and you can later obfuscate the code base easily.
  3. Why not put InvalidateCanExecute() on the IViewAction interface instead of the putting it directly on the ViewAction implementation, this seems more appropriate.
  4. I asked about this before in the discussions, and it seems there is no easy way to do constructor injection with the controllers.
I hope I haven't board you with my little ideas, I just thought they could make things a little bit better out of my love for the framework.

Again thank you for the great effort.
Regards
Feb 25, 2014 at 5:04 AM
You raise some valid points. Pretty much all of these things have actually come up before at one point or another. Some we may actually do. Here are some of the thoughts that have gone into the specifics you raise: